Vegan Scallops

Standard

I mentioned a while ago that we had discovered a little shop in chinatown filled to the ceiling with vegan meats – of the  many things we bought, I was most excited about the vegan scallops. I admit that I was pretty dubious about how they would taste but… they were AWESOME. I mean, the don’t taste anything like actual scallops; they do, however, taste EXACTLY like crab sticks (surimi)!! Which, if you’re me, is totally acceptable. I love crab sticks! even more than I love scallops! Jordan never liked seafood before he became vegan, and doesn’t like anything seaweed-flavoured, so I was pretty convinced he wouldn’t like these (the key ingredient in the scallops is ‘seaweed tangle). But he surprised me by trying a bite and declaring them delicious!

Here’s how I prepared them:
Cook up a package of pasta and set aside. Heat a fry pan on medium and sautee some sliced shiitake mushrooms and the vegan scallops till the scallops are heated through completely, and set aside. In the same pan, sautee 1 mince shallot and 3 cloves of garlic in a couple tablespoons of earth balance till clear. Add 1/2 c of dry white wine and deglaze pan, let it cook down a few minutes, then add some cashew cream (about 2/3 c of really thick cream, diluted down with soy milk to about 1.5 cups), whisk in and bring to a simmer, letting it cook down till it thickens up. Add the juice of one lemon, plus white pepper and salt, pour over the pasta and then top with the scallops and mushrooms and a little vegan parmesan if you have it.

Leave a Reply

