Bread Pudding

Standard

So: I always hated bread and butter pudding, rice pudding, tapioca, any of that shit, when I was a kid. But I’m trying to widen my pretty narrow food horizons, and this recipe looked and sounded pretty tasty. I don’t know if I did something wrong (there is a good chance I added too much liquid), but I just didn’t like this. It tasted fine, but it was the soggy texture that I couldn’t get past. HOWEVER, if you do like bread pudding, you might like this veganised version.

Dice about 8 thick slices of bread (MUST be stale) and squish into a nonstick baking tray or dish. Mix up 3 tablespoons of egg replacer with 14 tbsp of warm water (whisk out as many lumps as you can), then add 2 cups of cashew cream (regular) or soy milk, or a mixture of both (I actually tried out MimicCreme, for the first time: it has a beautiful texture but I’m not a fan of the almond content), 1 tsp of vanilla essence, a couple tbsp of melted earth balance and 1/2 cup of sugar. Mix it all up and pour over the bread. Let it soak over night. The following morning, toss in some vegan chocolate chips and frozen raspberries, and bake for 40 mins at 375 F. Serve with golden syrup or maple syrup.

Leave a Reply

