Tofu Burgers w/Mushrooms & Nuts

Standard

Okay, I know the title makes it sound like these are some gross hippie food burgers but they’re surprisingly good! Well, they were good in a burger – I made about a third of the mixture into faux-meatballs to cook tomorrow night, so that will be the true test. I found this recipe here at 101 Cookbooks, my new favourite recipe blog. If you haven’t checked out, please do: I’ve already bookmarked roughly 20 recipes from this site.

I halved the portions of the original recipe, since I was dubious about how good they would be, so the recipe below makes about 3 palm-sized burgers and a dozen or so faux-meatballs.

Into a food processor:

8 oz extra firm tofu, drained well (I used the vacuum-packed stuff for this, rather than the in-water kind)
1/4 c raw cashews
1/4 c raw sunflower seeds
1/4 c fine dried breadcrumbs
6 large shiitake mushrooms, roughly chopped
1 tbsp soy sauce
1 tsp cumin
1 tsp smoked paprika
1 tbsp dijon mustard
1 tbsp of egg replacer whisked into 3 tbsp of water
salt and pepper

Pulse until it starts to mush together, almost like a dough – it shouldn’t still be just crumbs. Using your hands, scoop a small fistful at a time, roll and press into a patty and set onto wax paper/plastic wrap and refrigerate for 30-60 mins – this will help the patties firm up a little.

Now, you can go ahead and cook them as they are – heat some peanut oil (or canola, or olive oil) in a non-stick pan on about medium and fry until golden and cooked through. My stove gets super hot so these starting burning before they were cooked. I topped them with parmesan for me and daiya mozzeralla for husb and microwaved them for 2 mins.

Alternatively, you can dip the burgers into soy milk and* dredge them in chickpea flour – I love, love, love the taste of this flour and I think it goes really well with the sunflower and cashews in the patties.

*UPDATE: I made these again today and realised you totally don’t need to do this part: the patties are moist enough that the chickpea flour will stick fine.

*UPDATE 2: so the last time I made these, I baked them at 350 F for 30mins and then browned them for a few minutes – they turned out best! also – they are quite good  cold the next day.

Serve them as a side to a salad or make them into burgers. Tonight I made burgers with:
– sourdough ploughmans
– veganaise
– butter lettuce
– microplaned carrot
– red onion
– mustard mixed with tomato sauce (that’s ketchup, for my American readers)

SO DAMN GOOD!

Leave a Reply

