Roasted Sunburst Squash & Potato

Standard

Okay, the original recipe is delicata squash, which I confused with sunburst squash, so… just use whatever you want! This is another recipe from 101 Cookbooks.

1lb of fingerling potatoes
2 large sunburst squash
1/4 c safflower oil
just under 1/4 c miso
4 cloves garlic, minced
1 tsp ground coriander
1/2 tsp ground cumin
1 tsp caraway seeds
juice from one lemon
a few leaves of kale
6 radishes
red pepper flakes

Heat the oven to 400 F.

Chop the potatoes into pretty small pieces – about 3/4″ square. I kind of murdered my sunburst squash, because I was following the directions for delicata but: chop the squash into chunks. Rinse the potatoes and dry well (if they’re wet, they won’t brown).

The original recipe called for harissa paste, but I didn’t have any on hand, and it sounded a bit too spicy for my pathetically weak taste buds so I looked up the ingredients and realised I had everything to make it: whisk the garlic, coriander, cumin, salt and caraway seeds together with the oil, add red pepper flakes to your liking. Or use store-bought harissa paste. Whisk in the miso and lemon. Toss about half of the dressing with the potatoes and squash, lay out in a baking tray and bake for around 30 mins, till tender.

Destem/devein the kale. Taking small fistfuls, squish up in a ball and slice finely. Scoop it up again, squish and slice finely one more time. Repeat for all the kale. Slice the radish as thin as you can – I used my mandolin for the first time tonight! I’ve had since we got married, but couldn’t figure out how to successfully use it. I think I’ve had a revelation and will be putting it to more use. Add the rest of the dressing to the kale and radish, stir up well and set aside.

When the veggies are cooked, toss everything together and serve.

Leave a comment